The Scenic Route

By: gabrielle

Feb 20 2009

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

I buy my beer two towns away, across the county line. I don’t have to, since I don’t live in a dry county. But I want to, and if you happened to grow up in a small, Southern Baptist community, you understand why.

Anyway, there are two ways to get to the Grocery Where Nobody Knows My Name. One route is seven miles long, on what passes for ‘the highway’ around here, straight there and back, just two turns- one out of my driveway, and one into town.

The other route can be as long as you want. It’s all backroads, with little backroads off of them that can take you to another backroad where you can eventually get to the same place. It’s a lot more interesting.

Leave a Reply

