Hidden in Plain Sight

By: gabrielle

Feb 25 2009

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

It’s amazing how you can live near a place and never notice it. After spending much of my childhood here, I was surprised when I moved back home to find so many places that were was unfamiliar to me. The main impetus for starting this blog was to introduce myself and my friends to these undiscovered locations. I visited one of these places the other day.

St. Mark’s Episcopal Church in Roxobel is off the main drag, so it’s not a site I regularly pass, but I’ve known of it all my life. My great-grandmother grew up next door to the church, and her grandparents attended it when she was a girl. When I was small, they still had services once a month, and I knew people that attended the church. But as much as I love old churches and graveyards, I never seemed to remember St. Mark’s when I would consider places to visit.

I had such a lovely time there last week, I certainly will remember it in the future.

Leave a Reply

